Reel Builder: Templates

Legacy Pro & Professional users can create and save reel templates. Reel templates will apply block order/visibility, block settings, and media (optional) to a new reel.

In this article:

Creating and saving templates

To create a new template in the Reel Builder, design a reel just as you’d like for the template and choose “Save as Template” from the Save button dropdown menu and give your template a name. You will remain in the Reel Builder after the template is saved. You can choose to leave the Reel Builder at this time, or you continue to build and then save and publish the reel. 

You can choose to include default media in your template, or save the template with placeholder/empty media blocks.

The following settings will be saved in a template:

  • Theme Settings: Reel colors and waveform preferences
  • Blocks: Block order, visibility settings, plus any layout settings (headshot on the right, etc.)
  • Images: Logos, banners, media block images (optional), and headshot (including any default or override settings)
  • Text: Title, text blocks, contact info, and biography text (including any default or override settings)
  • Media: You can choose to include media blocks with or without prepopulated media

Setting a default template

You can set a default template in your Reel Settings ▸ Design Defaults by clicking on your preferred template icon (the current default template will always be highlighted). When you set a default template, some of your reel settings will become inactive since they will be set according to your templates on any new reels (i.e., reel colors, logo visibility. etc.). 

If you do not choose a default template, you will have the option to create a new reel without using a template. Reels created without a template (a.k.a. ”classic reels”) will include one copy of each basic block and use all of your default settings.

Applying templates

Each time you create a new reel, you will have the option to start with an existing template. If you have a default template set, that template will be initially selected (and indicated by a star icon), but you can choose any other template from the dropdown menu before continuing to the Reel Builder. 

If you do not set a default template, you will have the option to create a new reel without using a template. Reels created without a template (“classic reels”) will include one copy of each basic block and use all of your default settings.

Note: You can only apply templates to new reels. You cannot apply a template to an existing reel or change templates once you’ve started building in the Reel Builder.

Deleting templates

To delete a template, navigate to your Reel Settings ▸ Design Defaults and click the red X to the right of the template icon. Deleting a template will not affect any existing reels created with that template; it will simply remove it from your template library.

At the time of writing this help article, it is not possible to edit or rename templates.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us